Odisha Media Award ( OMA ) 2015 concluded

Odisha Media Award (OMA) is an attempt by Young India with a group of journalists and development activists committed to the people of Odisha. The primary objective of OMA is to facilitate media coverage of people’s causes by recognising and encouraging journalists and other media persons of the state of Odisha who thorough their works have championed causes of people while passing relevant information to empower the ordinary man.

The nomination for the award was started from February 5, 2015. Within the period the process of selection was finished. As judged by its panel of noted journalists and social activists with basis of popularity, effectiveness and peoples view, OMA was felicitate best Editor, Columnist, Cartoonist, Radio and TV Programme, Documentary, Journalism and Mass Communication institutes etc. The list of persons and institution which was honoured at the ceremony is, Soumyaranjan Patnaik- Inspiring Media Entrepreneur, Tathagata Satpathy, Editor, DHARITRI & Orissa Post- Editor of the Year, Kishore Rath- Cartoonist of the Year, To Aganara Tulasi Mun (Sarthak TV)- Best Show-Fiction, Satya Ra Samna ( Zee Kalinga TV)- Best Show-Non Fiction, Apana Eka Nuhanti (Orissa TV)- Best Innovative Programme, Swayam Prakash Mahapatra- Best News caster, Mo Pasanda (AIR, Cuttack)- Popular Radio Program, Daria Parira Katha, Odia Radio (Internet Radio)- Best Innovative Radio Programme, Rj. Sangram -Popular Radio Jockey, Dillip Subuddhi- Best Reporter (People’s Issue Reporting), Basudev Mahapatra- Best Reporter (Environmental Reporting), Jatindra Dash-Best Reporter (Developmental Reporting), Rojalin Pradhan, Konark & Amitabh Patra, Bargarh- Best Reporter (Community Reporting), Indian Institute of Mass Communication (IIMC),Dhankanal- Best Media Institution & Samarendra Das- Best Peoples Cause Documentary.

During the session a panel discussion was held on the topic “ Is Journalism entering the phase of Activism?”. UNESCO Community Media Chair Prof Vinod Pavarala, Representative of World Federation of CR Broadcasters N. Ramakrishnan, Editor Dharitri & Orissa Post Tathagata Satpathy, Chairperson Eastern Media Limited Soumyaranjan Patnaik, Regional Manager Debabrata Patra were present as panellist, Senior Journalist & Media Activist Chandra Mishra moderated the session. Representatives from UNESCO, UNICEF, World Federation of CR Broadcasters, Action Aid, CEMCA were also present.  Convenor, Odisha Media Award & Noted Community Media Specialist N A Shah Ansari spoke on objective and future plan of Odisha Media Award. This event was organised at Jayadev Bhawan, Bhubaneswar on 8th August,2015.

OMA was organised by Young India. Agencies like Action Aid, Community Radio Association of India, CEMCA organised the event.